What is American Ginseng

American ginseng native to the northern United States to southern Canada, was first discovered around 1700, and has been sold to the coastal areas of Guangzhou, China. It has been artificially cultivated since 1878. The initial yield was small, and then the yield was gradually increased. At present, it has been supplied in large quantities, and it is no longer a special supplement for a few people. Generally can be divided into the following categories:

American Ginseng It is artificially cultivated. The age of ginseng is generally about 3 to 5 years. It is the most common ginseng species on the market. Half wild ginseng the age of half-wild ginseng is generally about 4 to 5 years. Artificially cultivated with wild ginseng seeds. Pure wild ginseng Most of the ginseng age is longer, generally up to 8 to 10 years or even more. It grows naturally in the mountains and forests without any human intervention. It is currently listed as an endangered species and is quite rare. (Canadian wild ginseng is forbidden to be picked and sold, and the North American pure wild ginseng sold on the market is produced in the United States)

Selection method and effectiveness

The age of the American ginseng can be identified by the dent or the ring on the top of the American ginseng. As American ginseng ages, dents or rings will gradually increase. If the root of American ginseng is discolored, it shows that the root of American ginseng has lesions and internal quality problems. Healthy American ginseng should not have faded areas. However, the appearance of American ginseng cannot fully express the health status of American ginseng. Occasionally, the outer skin is damaged but not faded, and it is still a healthy American ginseng.

American ginseng is rich in nutrients and contains a variety of American ginseng saponins, polysaccharides, volatile oils, a variety of amino acids and more than 10 kinds of trace elements and other nutrients. Among them, zinc is an important component of insulin and various enzymes, and it is involved in nucleic acid and protein synthesis. , participate in energy metabolism; calcium can maintain the health of bones and teeth; iron is an important component of human blood; at the same time, American ginseng also contains manganese, germanium, molybdenum, silicon and other precious trace elements.

Shop now

What is sea cucumber/fish maw

【Sea cucumber】is a traditional Chinese precious ingredient, which is the "ginseng" in the four major seafood "abalone, ginseng, wings and belly". Originally grown in the sea, salvaged and processed into a dry state for easy preservation.

【Fish Maw】commonly known as "fish maw", which is the "belly" in "abalone ginseng wing belly", is one of the traditional Chinese precious foods. It is generally made from the swim bladder of large fish. After drying, the appearance is mostly translucent yellow.

Selection method and effectiveness

【Sea Cucumber】Sea cucumber is an ingredient with high nutritional value, rich in protein, but low in fat and almost free of cholesterol. In addition, because sea cucumber is delicate and easy to chew, it is quite suitable for the elderly and young children as a supplement.
Color: Due to the wide variety of sea cucumbers, the colors are also different. The general principle of selection is natural color. Sea cucumbers that are too dark and shiny may be specially processed and need special attention.
Epidermal: The integrity of the epidermis is a major point in selecting sea cucumbers. Sea cucumbers with broken skin or incomplete appearance may be made from stale sea cucumbers or damaged during the drying process.
Dry and humidity: The drier the sea cucumber, the better. If it is not dried in the sun during processing, it will be easily corrupted after a long storage.
Smell: High-quality sea cucumbers have a faint sea smell, not fishy odor.

【Flower Maw】The main component of fish maw is collagen, and it also contains a variety of trace elements, and its fat content is low. It is an ideal supplement food. Mainly used for nourishing yin, nourishing the kidney, strengthening the body function.
Color: Good fish maw is light yellow and translucent in color, clean in texture, free from blood tendons, blood stasis, etc. Size and thickness: Generally, the larger the fish maw, the more expensive it is. Mainly, the larger the size, the thicker the gel body, and the better the taste after stewing.
Dry humidity: The drier the maw, the better. If the inside is not dried thoroughly during processing, the color of the center will be cloudy, which is called "flower heart".
Smell: Good quality fish maw smells with a hint of sea odor. Fish maw with obvious fishy odor is generally inferior.

Shop now

What is bird's nest

Bird's nest is originally a nest built by swallows. After removing impurities and fine hairs, it can become a bird's nest that can be sold.

Selection method and effectiveness

The main nutrient component of bird's nest is sialic acid, also known as bird's nest acid. It is also rich in protein and a variety of elements needed by the human body such as sodium, calcium, magnesium and potassium.

Color: Since the bird's nest is a natural product, and the swallow's saliva will be slightly different depending on the food it eats, it is a natural phenomenon. Bird's nests that are too white or even in color may have concerns about bleaching.
Appearance: The complete shape of the bird's nest is generally regarded as a better grade, and the more complete it is and the larger the piece, the higher the value.
Odor: Since the bird's nest is made of swallow's saliva, it is normal to have a slight fishy smell.
Fine hairs: Since the bird's nest itself is fragile, the fine hairs and impurities cannot be replaced by machines, and it is completely dependent on manual work. Even experienced processing masters cannot remove 100% fine hairs, so it is normal for bird's nests to contain a small amount of fine hairs. If there are no fine hairs at all, it is necessary to consider whether it has been bleached, and extra attention is required.

Shop now

什麼是花旗參

花旗參(又名西洋參),原產於美國北部到加拿大南部一帶,首次發現約於約於1700年,爾後陸續銷往中國 廣州沿海一帶。於1878年起開始人工培植,初期產量較少,後才逐漸增產,目前已大量供應,再非少數人的專 用補品。一般可分為以下種類:

花旗參 人工栽植培育而成,參齡一般約3~5年,是市面上較常見的參種。 半野山參 又稱泡參,參齡一般約4~5年。以野山參種子進行人工培育而成。 純野山參 參齡多半較長,一般可達8~10年,甚至以上。天然生長於山野林間,生長過程不經任何人工介入,目前已列瀕危物種,相當稀有。(加拿大野山參禁止採摘販售,市面上所售之北美純野山參產地為美國)

挑選方法與功效

根據花旗參頂端凹痕或年環,可以辨別出該花旗參的年齡.當花旗參年齡漸長,凹痕或年環會逐漸增加。假 若花旗參根部退色,顯示出花旗參根部有病變及內在質量問題。健康完好的花旗參不應該部有退色的地帶。 但外表狀況不能完全表現花旗參的健康狀況,偶爾外皮受損但沒有退色的狀況,仍然是健康的花旗參。

花旗參營養豐富,含有多種西洋參皂苷、多糖體、揮發油、多種氨基酸及10種以上的微量元素等營養成分, 其中鋅為胰島素及多種酵素的重要成分,參與核酸及蛋白質合成,參與能量代謝;鈣能維持骨骼及牙齒的健 康;鐵質則是組成人體血液的重要成份;同時花旗參還含有錳、鍺、鉬、矽等珍貴的微量元素。

立即前往選購

什麼是海參/花膠

【海參】是中國傳統名貴食材,為四大海味「鮑、參、翅、肚」中的「參」。原生長於海裡,打撈加工後成乾燥狀態,便於保存。

【花膠】俗稱「魚肚」,為「鮑參翅肚」中的「肚」,是中國傳統的名貴食品之一。一般由大型魚的魚鰾所製煉而成,經乾燥處理後,外觀多半呈半透明的黃色。

挑選方法與功效

【海參】海參是營養價值相當高的食材,富含豐富的蛋白質,但脂肪含量低且幾乎沒有膽固醇。此外,由於海參肉質細膩、易於咀嚼,所以相當適合老年人以及幼童,做為補身之用。
色澤:由於海參種類繁多,顏色也各不相同。挑選的大原則為色澤自然,,過於黝黑發亮的海參,可能經特殊加工,需特別留意。
表皮:表皮完整是挑選海參的一大要點。表皮破損或外型不完整的海參,可能是由不新鮮的海參製成,或是在乾燥過程中所造成的損壞。
乾濕度:越乾燥的海參越好。若在加工時,未曬乾透,存放久了便容易腐敗。
氣味:優質的海參聞起來帶有淡淡的海味,而非腥臭味。

【花膠】花膠的主要成分為膠原蛋白,另含多種微量元素,且脂肪含量低,是十分理想的補身食品。主要用於滋陰養顏、補腎、強壯身體機能。
色澤:好的花膠色澤淡黃且透亮,質地潔淨,無血筋、瘀血等。大小、厚薄:花膠一般個頭越大,越名貴。主要是越大,膠身越厚,燉煮過後的口感也越好。
乾濕度:越乾燥的花膠越好。若在加工時,內部未曬乾透,中心顏色便會混濁,是謂「花心」,浸發後易有臭味,不可食用。
氣味:優質的花膠聞起來帶有淡淡的海味。有明顯腥臭味的花膠一般為次等品。

立即前往選購

什麼是燕窝

燕窩原是燕子所築的巢穴,在剔除雜質和細毛後,才能成為可販售的燕窩。

挑選方法與功效

燕窩得主要營養成分為唾液酸,又名燕窩酸,另富含豐富的蛋白質且多種鈉、鈣、鎂、鉀等人體所需之元素。

色澤:由於燕窩為天然產品,且燕子的唾液會因所吃的食物而略有不同,為自然現象。過於潔白或顏色均勻的燕窩,可能有漂白的疑慮。
外型:燕窩形狀完整一般視為較優良的等級,越完整與大片價值也越高。
氣味:由於燕窩為燕子的唾液所製成,帶有淡淡的腥味為正常現象。
細毛:由於燕窩本身即為脆弱,無法以機器替除細毛與雜質,完全仰賴手工。即便經驗老到的加工師傅,也無法100%的剔除細毛,因此燕窩含有少量細毛為正常現象。若完全沒有任何細毛,則要考慮是否經過漂白,需額外留意。

立即前往選購